Deal is a perfect town by the sea!  Deal is charming to explore on foot, from gentle walks following the sea to Sandwich or Kingsdown, to more demanding long distance footpaths. The famous golf links at nearby Sandwich Bay and Deal attract top players and White Cliffs Country hosts the Open Championship.


Step out over the sea with a walk along the pier and look back at the amazing seafront vista - spot fishermen’s cottages, the unique Time Ball Tower and the battlements of Deal Castle. Along the whole length of the seafront is a dedicated path north, to the famous golf courses and south to Walmer Castle beyond.


1. Street markets are held twice a week, on Wednesday (Farmers Market) and Saturday.

2. The long-held theory that Deal Pier (1,026ft) is the same length as the ill-fated Titanic (882ft) is untrue.

3. Free concerts are held on Sundays (2pm) from May-Sept at the Walmer Green bandstand.

4. Sea anglers are welcome to use the Pier and seafront.

5. The Town Council runs three allotments in Golf Road, Mill Road and Park Avenue.

6. For any information on Deal go to the Landmark Centre, High Street.


A great way to discover Deal’s fascinating and notorious past of smugglers, revenue men, women of the night, murders and shipwrecks is by following this historic town trail. At each numbered site on the map you will find an information panel giving an illustrated account of Deal’s history.


A chance to shop in style; all the best High Street names are here with independent department stores plus specialist shops offering items that are a little bit special.


The fabulous Georgian houses set in twisting lanes lead you into the conservation area from the North of the High Street, passing the Astor Theatre, Georgian Town Hall and St. George’s Church plus the many specialist shops that make up this picturesque area.


In 1278, Deal became a limb port of the Cinque Ports.

In 1539, Henry VIII ordered the building of castles at Deal and Walmer

In 1617, earlier record of local smuggling, which became common practise.

In 1771, Captain James Cook disembarked at Deal on return from his voyage to Australia.

In 1835, Queen Victoria first visited the town when she was still a princess.

In 1842, Queen Victoria returned to Deal with Prince Albert.

In 1861, Royal Marines depot established.

In 1918, King George V inspected the Royal marines stationed at their Deal barracks.

In 1924, Victoria Hospital, Deal opened.

In 1944, German V-I rockets flew over Deal.

In 1957, the present Pier opened by Prince Philip, Duke of Edinburg.

In 1978, Queen Mother appointed Lord Warden of the Cinque Ports.

In 1981, the town's two cinemas closed.

In 1982, Queens Hotel on the seafront destroyed by fire.

In 1989, IRA bomb outrage killed 11 Royal Marines musicians at their Deal barracks.

In 1996, Royal Marines School of Music, Deal re-located to Portsmouth.